FAQs

Anton Schubert

What is your aim?

Also in Salzburg, there are more than enough reasons to initiate the »STUMBLING BLOCKS« project. The idea of remembering the expulsion and extermination that Gunter Demnig pursues, has a particular impetus for this form of commemoration in a city in which the only book-burning in Austria took place and which now, as in the past, still has a hard time dealing with the dark sides of its history.

Why should STUMBLING BLOCKS be laid?

In addition to existing memorials, STUMBLING BLOCKS are small and individual signs of remembrance, which can be initiated in a very personal form.

For whom should STUMBLING BLOCKS be laid?

The stumbling blocks are to be laid in memory of the expulsion and extermination of Jews, Roma and Sinti, politically persecuted, homosexuals, Jehovah’s Witnesses and victims of euthanasia in Nazi Germany.

Is this project extant in other cities?

In more than 1,000 German and European communities there are already about 70,000 blocks laid. In Austria in Moedling, Braunau, Wels and St. Georgen near Salzburg memorial blocks have already been set. In addition, there are STUMBLING BLOCKS in 23 european countries.

Why have you organised yourselves in a committee?

The committee is intended as a form of non-partisan initiative. We intend to implement the action in Salzburg, without it being influenced in any partisan direction. Representatives from the fields of science, politics, culture, management and individuals are involved, because they believe that this is a meaningful and important project for Salzburg.

How can I help you and/or become a member of the committee?

Your willingness to support can be registered under dachverband@kultur.or.at. You are then in the »STUMBLING BLOCKS Mailing-List« and will be regularly kept informed by email and can communicate with other members of the committee. Every person who reciprocates with the objectives of the committee can become a member.

Can one support you as an organization/company/association?

Of course – for instance, as a sponsor for a stumbling block (cost: € 120,00 including setting).

Is there a list of victims of the Nazi dictatorship in Salzburg?

A list already exists. It is continuously revised and supplemented at the moment.

How can I become a sponsor?

Specifically, with a donation of € 120 – to the trustee-managed account of the Committee, made out to: »Project STUMBLING BLOCKS«, at the Notary Trustee Bank Ltd.: IBAN: AT853150080605052808, BIC: NTBAATWW. The STUMBLING BLOCKS are a gift from the sponsor to the City of Salzburg and become the property of the City of Salzburg after being set.

May I undertake the sponsorship for a particular person?

That is theoretically possible and wished-for.

Will my name be mentioned publicly in connection with the setting of a STUMBLING BLOCK?

If this is explicitly asked for, otherwise not.

May I undertake an anonymous sponsorship for a STUMBLING BLOCK?

Yes, with an (anonymous) donation of € 120 – to the trustee-managed account of the Committee, made out to: »Project STUMBLING BLOCKS«, Notartreuhandbank AG: IBAN: AT853150080605052808, BIC: NTBAATWW. www.notartreuhandbank.at

Is the sponsorship of one or more STUMBLING BLOCKS a prerequisite for inclusion in the committee?

Membership of the STUMBLING BLOCKS committee is not linked to being or becoming a sponsor – but, of course, we hope that in the practical implementation of the project we can also count on your financial assistance.

Is there a map of possible sites for the setting of STUMBLING BLOCKS?

In the category »Places & Biographies« one may see, next to the short biographies, the current installation sites. A list containing the names of other victims of the Nazi regime in the City of Salzburg can be gladly sent upon request.

How do I obtain regular information about you or the development of the project in Salzburg?

Through membership in the STUMBLING BLOCKS committee

How do you finance expenses other than through the setting of STUMBLING BLOCKS (various expenses)?

The work is done voluntarily by members of the committee, information material and other expenses are currently covered by donations.

Who is responsible for the organizational duties?

At the moment the Dachverband Salzburger Kulturstaetten. To find out more details visit: www.kultur.or.at/mission (currently only in German)

Who has access to the donation account?

Mag. Thomas Randisek, managing director of the Dachverband Salzburger Kulturstaetten.

Who are the members of the STUMBLING BLOCKS committee?

Committee participant list.

DE EN

FAQs

Anton Schubert

Was ist Euer Ziel?

Auch in Salzburg gibt es mehr als genug Gründe, das Projekt »Stolpersteine« zu initiieren. Die Idee des Erinnerns an die Vertreibung und Vernichtung, die Gunter Demnig verfolgt, ist in einer Stadt, in der die einzige Bücherverbrennung Österreichs stattgefunden hat und die sich im Umgang mit den dunklen Seiten ihrer Vergangenheit nach wie vor eher schwer tut, ein Anstoß diese Form des Gedenkens zu initiieren.

Warum sollen Stolpersteine gelegt werden?

Neben bestehenden Mahnmalen, sind die Stolpersteine kleine und individuelle Zeichen des Gedenkens, die in sehr persönlicher Form initiiert werden können.

Für wen sollen Stolpersteine gelegt werden?

Die Stolpersteine sollen zur Erinnerung an die Vertreibung und Vernichtung von Juden, von Roma & Sinti, von politisch Verfolgten, von Homosexuellen, von Zeugen Jehovas und von Euthanasieopfern im Nationalsozialismus verlegt werden.

Gibt es diese Aktion auch in anderen Städten?

Mittlerweile finden sich rund 63.500 Steine (September 2017) nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in 21 weiteren europäischen Ländern.

Warum organisiert ihr euch in einem Personenkomitee?

Das Personenkomitee ist als überparteiliche Form der Initiative gedacht. Wir wollen die Aktion in Salzburg umsetzen, ohne dass sie in irgendeiner parteipolitischer Richtung besetzt wird. VertreterInnen aus dem Bereich der Wissenschaft, der Politik, der Kultur, der Verwaltung und Privatpersonen engagieren sich, weil sie der Meinung sind, dass dies ein sinnvolles und wichtiges Projekt für Salzburg ist.

Wie kann ich euch unterstützen, Mitglied des Personenkomitees werden?

Die Unterstützungsbereitschaft kann unter dachverband@kultur.or.at bekanntgegeben werden. Sie befinden sich dann in der »Mailing-List Stolpersteine« und werden laufend per Email informiert und können mit den anderen Mitgliedern des Personenkomitee kommunizieren. Jede Person, die sich den Zielen des Personenkomitees anschließt, kann Mitglied werden.

Kann man Euch auch als Organisation/Firma/Verein unterstützen?

Selbstverständlich – etwa mit einer Patenschaft für einen Stolperstein – kostet samt Verlegung € 120.-

Gibt es eine Liste mit Opfern der Nazi-Diktatur in Salzburg?

Eine Liste existiert bereits, sie wird zur Zeit laufend überarbeitet und ergänzt.

Wie kann ich eine Patenschaft übernehmen?

Konkret mit einer Spende über € 120.- auf das treuhändisch verwaltete Konto des Personenkomitee, lautend auf »Projekt Stolpersteine«, bei der Notartreuhandbank AG: IBAN: AT853150080605052808, BIC: NTBAATWW. Die Stolpersteine sind ein Geschenk der Paten an die Stadt Salzburg und gehen nach der Verlegung in den Besitz der Stadt Salzburg über.

Kann ich eine Patenschaft für eine bestimmte Person übernehmen?

Das ist prinzipiell möglich und auch erwünscht.

Wird mein Name öffentlich in Zusammenhang mit der Legung eines Stolpersteines erwähnt?

Falls dies ausdrücklich gewünscht wird, ansonsten nicht.

Kann ich auch anonym eine Patenschaft für einen Stolperstein übernehmen?

Ja, mit einer (auch anonymen) Spende über € 120.- auf das treuhändisch verwaltete Konto des Personenkomitee, lautend auf »Projekt Stolpersteine«, Notartreuhandbank AG: IBAN: AT853150080605052808, BIC: NTBAATWW.

Ist die Übernahme einer Patenschaft für einen/mehrere Stolpersteine Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in das Personenkomitee?

Die Mitgliedschaft im Personenkomitee Stolpersteine ist nicht an die Übernahme einer Patenschaft gekoppelt – wir hoffen bei der konkreten Umsetzung des Projektes allerdings auch auf ihre finanzielle Hilfe.

Gibt es eine »Landkarte« über die möglichen Plätze für die Verlegung der Stolpersteine?

In der Rubrik »Orte & Biografien« sehen sie neben kurzen Biografien auch die bisherigen Verlegeorte in der Stadt Salzburg. Eine Liste mit den Namen weiterer Opfer des NS-Regimes in der Stadt Salzburg senden wir ihnen auf Anfrage gerne zu.

Wie bekomme ich regelmäßige Informationen über Euch/die Entwicklung des Projektes in Salzburg?

Durch eine Mitgliedschaft im Personenkomitee Stolpersteine

Wie finanziert ihr Ausgaben abseits der Verlegung der Stolpersteine (div. Auslagen)?

Die Arbeit erfolgt von Mitgliedern des Personenkomitees ehrenamtlich, Ausgaben für Infomaterial, und sonstige Ausgaben sind derzeit durch Spenden gedeckt.

Wer übernimmt die organisatorischen Aufgaben?

Zur Zeit der Dachverband Salzburger Kulturstätten – Details erfahren Sie unter: www.kultur.or.at/mission.

Wer hat Zugriff auf das Spendenkonto?

Mag. Thomas Randisek, Geschäftsführer des Dachverband Salzburger Kulturstätten

Wer ist Mitglied im Personenkomitee Stolpersteine?

Teilnehmerliste Personenkomitee

DE EN